St Lucia Geography

If you look for St. Lucia on the world map, you will find it in the Caribbean archipelago of Lesser Antilles. The independent island state can be found north of St. Vincent and south of Martinique. Here in the lush nature, countless forested mountains rise from the northern part of the island to the southern part of the island. Only river valleys interrupt the mountain ranges. The island is known, among other things, for a huge lava area. It is located in the southwest of the island, is called Qualibou and comprises 18 lava domes and 7 craters.
To the west of St Lucia lies Jalousie Plantation Harbor, which is marked by the twin peaks of the Twin Pitons. The peaks, which protrude 800 m steeply from the sea, are the symbol of the island.

According to neovideogames, the flora and the climate are tropical. The island is covered by beautiful and species-rich vegetation and offers an overwhelming sight. Whether wild orchids or bougainvilleas, they all grow here, as well as hibiscus and roses. The average annual temperature on St Lucia is 26 degrees Celsius.

St. Lucia invites you to go diving, snorkeling, sailing and surfing. There are countless hiking trails for nature lovers, but walking and horse riding are also possible on St Lucia.

The traces of the colonial era can still be seen today. Christopher Columbus “discovered” St Lucia in 1500. The first settlers didn’t come here until about 100 years later. However, their attempts to settle here failed. The French reached St Lucia in 1650 and were a little more successful. They managed to build a settlement. However, disputes with the United Kingdom arose shortly afterwards. These reported the possession of St Lucia to the French. During the conflict between France and Great Britain, the island changed hands a total of 14 times. It went back and forth over and over again. Not until the Congress of Vienna in 1814 the dispute was put to an end: the British were awarded St. Lucia.

St Lucia – information on the country

Area: 616 km² (land 606 km², water 10 km²)

Population: 161,557 (July 2011, CIA). Black 82.5%, mixed ancestry 11.9%, East Indian 2.4%, other 3.1%.

Population density: 262 people per km²

Population growth: 0.389% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Castries (12,900 residents, 2006)

Highest point: Mount Gimie, 950 m

Lowest point: Caribbean, 0 m

Form of government: Saint Lucia has been a parliamentary monarchy since 1979, represented in the Commonwealth. The constitution dates from the same year. The parliament is composed of two chambers. Saint Lucia has been independent from Great Britain since February 22, 1979.

Administrative division: 11 quarters (Anse-la-Raye, Castries, Choiseul, Dauphin, Dennery, Gros-Islet, Laborie, Micoud, Praslin, Soufriere and Vieux-Fort).

Head of Government: Prime Minister Kenny Anthony, since November 30, 2011

Head of State: British Queen Elizabeth II, represented since 19 September 1997 by Governor General Dame Perlette Louisy.

Language: The official language in Saint Lucia is English. Many of the residents of St Lucia also speak French and Spanish. However, the colloquial language in St Lucia is Kweyol. This is not just a patois or broken French, but an independent language with its own grammar and syntax rules. Kweyol is obtained through everyday use and also news and radio programs spoken entirely in Kwéyòl.

Religion: Roman Catholic (67.5%) Seventh Day Adventist (8.5%), Pentecostal (5.7%), Rastafarian (2.1%), Anglican (2%), Evangelical (2%), others Christians (5.1%), others (1.1%), unspecified (1.5%), no confession (4.5%) (2001)

Local time: CET – 5 h.
In Saint Lucia there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is -5 hours in winter and -6 hours in summer.

International phone code: +1 (758)


Mains voltage: 220 volts, 50 Hz alternating current (in hotels sometimes 110 volts, 60 Hz). As in Great Britain, three-pole rectangular plugs are used. Sometimes two-pin round plugs fit, more rarely American, flat plugs. Usually there are adapters in the hotels.

Saint Lucia: Map and Geography

The island state of Saint Lucia is part of the West Indies and the Lesser Antilles. It is the third largest of the Windward Islands, 43.5 km long and 22.5 km wide. St. Lucia is separated from the South American mainland, 340 kilometers south, by the Caribbean Sea. In the eastern Caribbean, St. Lucia, with its attractive sandy beaches and beautiful natural harbors, is one of the most interesting and best developed islands for tourism.

The neighboring island in the north of St. Lucia is Martinique (37 kilometers away), in the south Saint Vincent. Barbados is 180 kilometers to the east. The largest city with 12,900 residents and capital of st. Lucia is Castries. The coastline has a length of 158 km.

Characteristic of Saint Lucia is that of a species-rich forest, which is cut up by river valleys Mountain landscape.

The island of St. Lucia consists almost entirely of volcanic rock. In the north and south it is an average of 500 m high. On the other hand, the central part of the island, which is severely divided by countless streams, has a decidedly mountainous character. There are high, mostly sugar-hat-shaped mountains, including the 950 m highest peak of St Lucia, Mount Gimie.

There are numerous banana plantations across the island.

In the southwestern part is the Qualibou region with 18 lava domes and 7 craters. At the entrance to the western Jalousie Plantation Harbor, the landmarks of the country, the Twin Pitons (Gros Piton, 797 m and Petit Piton, 750 m) rise steeply from the Caribbean. These are two inactive volcanoes. In this area you can also find the Sulfur Springs, volcanic openings that emit sulfur gases, among other things.

The largest rivers in Saint Lucia are the Cul de Sac and Canelles.

St Lucia Geography

You may also like...